IS IT TAKING A BREAK OR WRITER’S BLOCK?

Recently, I pulled off the writing highway and am taking a rest break. It’s like pulling off for an iced tea and refilling my gas tank.  I don’t have writer’s block and I’m not going to call it that.  Writer’s block indicates that you’ve hit the wall.  You can’t go further and you are so mired down in words that you can’t string them together into a coherent sentence.

You may think I’m fooling myself and I probably am, but I’m not going to think that this state is permanent and can’t be corrected.  I’ve met writers who’ve had writer’s block for ten years or longer. I just reached a point where the story just wasn’t happening.  Yes, I have my version of an outline, that didn’t help either.  So I’ll stick with taking my break and just blog for a while.

Right now I’m involved in other writing projects including three book signings in the month of August. Book signings can be as taxing as writing, in some ways maybe worse because they require speaking to your loyal audience.  This can bring on a case of nerves as every author is concerned that they might say something which will cause a loyal reader to become a ticked off “I’ll never read that author again.” reader.  Just so you know if you’re worried about these things you have an entire profession in the same boat.

If you need to take a few days or a week break, do it and stop feeling guilty.  Even the most dedicated professionals need a vacation sometimes.  Enjoy your iced tea and then get back to work.

Leave a comment